Jockie

26 Hillfoot,

Renton,

Dunbartonshire.

26.5.44

My Dear Miss Tomkinson,

 

Thank you so much for your lovely letter, you have really no idea how they cheered me up.  It was so nice learning all about Tusmore, but I was sorry to hear about the staff, but how like us!

 

I hope they are all back now, & feeling well.  I saws Mr Addis yesterday afternoon & he said if I really wanted to get back to the Hospital, that I could go next week.  I told him that I did want to get back, as I felt a “shirker” now that I knew it was only rheumatism.  He gave me some more pills, and he will also send supplies down to Tusmore to me.  He also says that if I take the pills regularly & keep to what he tells me that he will completely rid me knee of the rheumatism.  I really believe him too, as I feel the pills have done me good.  I thought that I’d travel down to London on Wednesday night, that would give you time to let me know if it didn’t fall in with your’s & matron’s arrangements and come out to Bicester on the 4.5 P.M. from Paddington on Thursday.  I’m really longing to get back into “Harness” as I feel I’ve been sitting back while everyone else has got on with the job.

 

My sister, I am glad to say feels much better for her week in Harris.  She is also taking an outside interest in things again.

 

On Wednesday night we made some “marzapan potatoes”, it’s a good thing no-one saw how we made them, but they tasted good.  She also wants to see “thousands cheer” tonight.  I don’t know how she’ll do, but she has not been to anything since she got the news.  However, it’s a good sign so I will go with her & cross my fingers that she will be alright.

 

The weather is very changeable.  I do hope it starts to settle, it makes such a difference if the weather is nice.  How is Lady Bicester?  Please give her my love & also to Miss Pope.  I’m going to write to Miss Pope tonight.  So sorry I couldn’t send any of you a P.C. from Harris but there are none to be had now.  We had a really lovely time.  Plenty of lovely tweed there now though all on coupons isn’t too bad?  The staff seemed to have had a great time at the party, I’m so glad they enjoyed it and I can just imagine how they ate all the good things.  My sister sends her good wishes & says she will never forget you little Book.  My love to everyone,

With love

Jockie,

 

Leave a Reply

