Rosemary Webb

23 Basildon Court,

Devonshire St (?)

15.3.44

My dear Miss Tomkinson

 

Have had great ideas for writing to you all Today but I’m still in the most awful muddle – there was no room for me when I arrived – cliff has spread in the 2 years – anyway things are slightly more organised now – but nothing can make me realise quite soon that I won’t be catching the 4 -5 – How I have missed you all so much – you don’t know!  Life is so different on ones own, the only thing I notice is the cleaning up of the voice business(!) not that I was particularly inflicted – many many thanks for your many kindnesses – I’ve loved those 2 years more than any I can remember – my only hope now is that we can always meet and see each other somewhere.  I’m so longing to know if you like your new matron – I do hope so – I feel you do and that she is very nice.  Last night was most entertaining in this district & tonight the alert has gone but its slow getting underway – when it does we have a date on the roof.  Last night we were past going to bed – I swore (as always!) & as it was rather too noisy to be sleep making – I turned a cupboard out & did another of the necessary corners of this wee flat – so Hitler did not put me out too much.  The flies grieved me – there were so many and very near to us.  I wonder what’s in store for us tonight.

 

Am wondering if Rachel will be up this week?  I was all set for her proposed visit on Tuesday.

 

I have not been to H.Q. yet, am coping with my own problems first so that I have at least one part of my life settled.  Cliff and I went out on Saturday afternoon for a couple of hours – on my return found a little note from Sgt G(?)ummer who had called – Miss him – he must have remembered that I would be home this month – Ive written to him to come again if he is still at Woolwich – As you can guess I have not yet copied out the inventory but will do so in the next few days and send it on to you or matron –

 

No more now – my love and many thanks – do come to town soon – (maybe I’ll be back at Tusmore if these raids persist ??)

 

My love,

Sincerely

Rosemary Webb

 

 

Leave a Reply

